26 March 2011

City Corporation to Run Sri Lanka's Capital Colombo. Four Areas Run by Local Govt to be Brought under State Entity

24th March 2011, www.lankabusinessonline.com

Four areas of Sri Lanka's capital Colombo run by local government bodies will be brought under a new state entity whose head will be appointed by the island's president, the government's information office said.

Areas coming under Colombo Municipal Council, Dehiwela-Mt Lavinia Municipal Council, Sri-Jayawardenapura- Kotte Municipal Council, Kolonnawa Urban Council and Kotikawatta- Mulleriyawa Pradeshiya Sabha will come under the new entity.

The new entity styled Colombo Metropolitan City Corporation will have a 'City Governor' appointed by the president and will include heads and deputy heads of the four local bodies and a nominated opposition member each.

Twelve advisory committees made up of elected members of the local bodies will be set up, the government's information office said.

A bill to set up the corporation is being prepared for presentation to parliament.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.